New patterns and tigers and bears…oh my!

Standard

Ever wonder happens when you buy one of my patterns?  (Well, obviously, you print it out and go sew)  Me?  I do a little happy dance, and then I add that total to a list I keep on my fridge.  That’s my budget for buying new dolls, fabrics, trims etc.  Buying new fabric and dolls inspires me to create new patterns for you, but you are also encouraging me to produce more free patterns.  I try to give back to the doll community and keep a good ratio of  free patterns to more complex ones that end up being for sale. If you’re thinking, oh… that’s nice… another free pattern, I will share with you some of the emails that I have gotten. There are moms and grandmas out there who  have to save up to buy the little girl in their life a Hearts for Hearts Girl or Our Generation doll.  I have gotten more than one email from them saying they can’t afford to buy patterns or new fabric, but are so thankful they can use my free patterns and cut up old clothes to make things for their little girl’s doll.

Last year, someone asked for Halloween costumes that could be creative, like something other than the standard witch, ghost, etc. Well, it took a year, but I came up with something that can fill a wide variety of costume needs!  It can also serve as cozy pajamas, and it’s just adorable when dolls dress up as teddy bears, no matter what time of year it is!

Violet wanted to go as a tiger this year, and Atsuko decided to be a teddy bear. There are no instructions included with this pattern, it’s fairly straightforward.  If you can sew a raglan T-shirt and basic pajama pants, you can sew this.  (CLICK photo to enlarge)

IMG_0343orig sizer

DOWNLOAD THE COSTUME HERE

I apologize that I did not have time to resize this for Sasha/Kidz n Cats. Enlarging the 13-14″ pattern to 133% should work, although you may need to adjust the length of sleeves and pants.  Quarter inch seams are included.

You know how I said two new historical collections were coming?  Well, the next one has been delayed a bit, because it’s inspired by Molly, who AG is retiring at the end of this year 😦 and Clementine, the new doll from “A girl for all time,” who is supposed to be from the 1940s.  She was supposed to arrive mid-September, then late September, then was supposed to ship this week…well she hasn’t yet, but when she finally does arrive, she’ll have lots of new clothes ready and waiting for her!

Her measurements are similar to Sasha’s, but she is jointed like the earlier Kidz n Cats.  When the company first started, I sincerely contemplated Matilda, but you had to order the dolls from the UK, which meant high postage costs.  They now have a US website: http://www.agirlforalltime.us/ which is offering free shipping at the moment should you want to get one (which really makes me regret pre-ordering Clementine in August!)

So I leave you with a “sneak peek” of what’s to come next week (assuming Clementine arrives soon for her photo shoot):

2 responses

  1. Awesome sneak peek. I’m curious to see what you think of Clementine. I have read a lot of good reviews for ” A Girl for all Time”. Hmm. if Santa isn’t bringing Caroline, I wonder what he will bring. Also, could he give my “Santa” a few hints?

  2. Beautiful dresses, and such cute costumes! I’m looking forward to seeing your Clementine, she sure looks sweet! I hope all is well in your part of the world, thank you for sharing. 🙂