Penelope found more pattern pieces!

Standard

If there is one look that says “perfect dress for a little girl” it’s this. Penelope used last week’s bodice and added a peter pan collar and short, puffy sleeves. This was the iconic silhouette for girls’ dresses throughout the 1950s, and just about any catalog, paperdoll set, etc. will give you plenty of great ideas to dress this up with different kinds of trim. It was often covered with a pinafore…maybe she can find one of those for next week?

Download the bonus pattern pieces here

Note that it was done a little differently than usual – please check to make sure the inch box measures correctly when you print!!

4 responses

  1. Such a pretty dress for Penelope! Love the peter pan collar! Looks like you and Penelope are having fun!

  2. Thank you for this pattern!!!! I made this dress for a 21 inch, vintage 1952, slim bodied, American Character Sweet Sue doll. (Mine from childhood!) I enlarged the pattern to 112%. It fit her well. I did lengthen the skirt to cut at 8 ¼ inch by 17 ½ on the fold, which were the dimensions on a McCalls pattern from the time. It also fits my American Girl Kit. Thank you so much for the easy to make pattern, I’ve had fabric for many years to reproduce one of my favorite childhood 50’s dresses. Now it’s done (except for the snaps in the back) 🙄

    This is the dress on Sweet Sue. She would be similar to the Tony dolls of the era. I had a matching dress for my doll, so of course, I had to make one for her doll… a mini Maryellen from AG. The second photo is the dress on Kit… it is longer on her. I also added a sash, however I cut it too short so it is only folded through a loop on the back.

    Thought you’d like to know what other dolls the pattern can fit with a small modification. The sleeve band is a tad tight going over Kit’s hand but enlarging it even 1% does not fit on the paper.

    I enjoy your creations. This is the first one I’ve completed. Again, thank you for enabling me to finish a dream. Linda Gronvall

    >

    • Thanks so much for sharing! I love Sweet Sue and this dress would be perfect for her. The pics did not come through though, do you maybe have a link?