BHM Week 2

Standard

32556638772_c9bccc9191

If you’re just joining us, we’re celebrating Black History Month with children’s literature and doll outfits to accompany the book.

This week’s book is actually a series – Addy’s books!  When AG was Pleasant Company, the original intent of the books was for kids to learn about history and be able to act those stories out, supported by props available from PC.  If I were to list my favorite story series from the historical dolls, Josefina, Kit, Addy and Kirsten tie at the top of my list, and Addy is one of my favorite dolls.

There have been so many dresses for Addy over the years, both pictured in her books and sold by AG/PC it was hard to decide what to showcase.  I though the Emancipation Proclamation dress would be a good plan, since it ties in a historical event, but when I asked DH’s opinion he said, “Meh.  It’s kind of boring and it’s been done.  Why not do something unique?”  So I hybridized a dress silhouette from Godey’s with a slightly modified soutache pattern from Arthur’s Home Magazine and came up with something new that I just LOVE.  Maybe after reading the series, kids will want to make up their own stories and this dress can inspire them!  Many of the accessories from the French Fashion Doll series would be great for Addy’s time too!

Intermediate to advanced sewers will enjoy the challenge of piping, soutache and a lined skirt with a placket.  Beginners can make the basic bodice easily and substitute a simple rectangle for the skirt.

Get the pattern here

20 responses

  1. This is a beautiful dress! Addy is such a sweet doll and I love her wardrobe! I don’t own her, but Cecile gets to wear her dresses…! I have ordered the books and they are waiting for me at my brother’s place in the US (to save on indecent shipping fees to Canada!). I’m sure I will love Addy’s story as I’ve always been interested into that part of human history.

    Thank you once more for yet another beautiful pattern, so generously given to us!

    • It’s perfect for Cecile too, I know mine will share it with Addy. Now how do I get one of my family member to move to Canada to save on those Maplelea shipping fees? 😉

  2. So love your reference to the early Pleasant Company! Did you know that back in the day schools and libraries could borrow the historic dolls to use for programming and display. I was a children’s librarian at the time and used this service until it was discontinued. After that I used my personal dolls to teach history classes for over 20 years. It makes me so sad that the historic girls are not as popular anymore!
    Thank you for sharing your talents! I look forward to your weekly posts!

  3. I just joined and am looking forward to sewing the Addy dress. Although I have been sewing for many, many, many years I’m sure this pattern will test my skills.

  4. I just found an Addy at the Goodwill for $5. She only has her slip and earrings. This dress will be perfect. Thank you

  5. Thank you for your generous free patterns. This dress for Addy is beautiful, and I can’t wait to make it! This whole series is wonderful for Black History Month.

  6. Wondering what kind of stabilizer you used behind the design? Also, what did you use to transfer the pattern to the dress fabric? Thanks.
    Love the pattern and your Addy. Lucky for me, I was able to obtain a 1993 Felicity in good shape just recently. I’m sure the girls will be fighting over the dress made from this wonderful pattern.

    • Pellon tear-away like you’d use for machine embroidery. My favorite way to transfer is to tape the pattern to a window and put the fabric on top and then trace the design.

  7. I loved the Addy stories- though it’s been 20 plus years since I read them. What a beautiful dress, and I’m excited to sew for Addy! I saved up and bought Addy with my own money in elementary school, and she has a few nice things my mother sewed for her, but in all a rather limited wardrobe. Thank you!

  8. Hello, this is a beautiful dress. Do you have the pattern piece for the belt, though, or the measurements for same. Maybe I’m missing it, but I’ve looked back and don’t see it. Thank you!