Yay! A new series!

Standard

It’s been a while since we’ve had a “theme” month, and February is the perfect time.

For a few years it’s been on my to-do list to devote February to Black History Month.  The main issue has been deciding what to base the outfits on.  Historical events? Different types of African textiles?  Famous people from history?  Outfits for specific dolls?  Well, this year I finally came up with an idea that got me excited!

Historical fiction can make history come alive for children far more than the best retelling of a historical event in a history book. So, for each of the weeks of Black History Month, I’m going to feature a specific children’s book with an outfit based on it.

32275057520_690b63e54d

This week we’re reading:

Stella by Starlight by Sharon M. Draper

I listened to the audio version of this and the actress did a marvelous job with the voices that really brought the book to life!  Not all children’s books are equally engaging for adults, but if you’re an adult and only choosing one children’s book to read during this BHM series, it would be this one.  Stella is a well-developed character you will grow to love, and the author’s portrayal of her life has a very authentic feel.

Get the “Stella” pattern and more info here

il_570xn-1134413326_jhvd

You might also be happy to know Nisha’s 1980s safari dress pattern  is finally available on Etsy!

15 responses »

  1. Thanks for the “Stella by Starlight” pattern! My girls are reading it in school and love it. I am sure that they will love the pattern as well as we recreate the dress and share the story.

  2. Jenny, this is a beautiful dress! I love the bodice details! You are fantastic sharing all this with us! I love your idea of BHM and I’ve already read the information you added in the pattern about the dolls and doll faces! Quite interesting!

    The safari dress is beautiful! Your work is always amazing! Now to find time to get back to sewing and try on your lovely patterns…

  3. Love the theme (and the dress). I think it’s a great idea to link dress and books. Hope you do this again beyond this one month.

  4. Thank you very much for the lovely new “Stella by Starlight” dress pattern. It is absolutely beautiful, delicate and feminine! I absolutely love both the 1930’s look, and especially the connection to children’s literature. Our children need these links to history and powerful role models. Tying the design to Black History Month and the lovely new Gabriella AG doll was a very clever idea. I am very grateful for your free pattern since I sew for needy special children in my community and am on a tightly-fixed income. I adore all of your designs and love reading your blog, (if that is the right term). God bless.

  5. Thanks for the lovely pattern ! And what wonderful timing for Black History Month! You’re right, I didn’t see those precious scallops ’til I looked at the pattern, but I love them. One of these days, I’ll have to get an AG doll – for now, I adapt your works for other dolls, but you keep inspiring me to want one. . .

  6. Double Yay for the theme month. Love the pattern. Scallops are a favorite of mine. Interesting as my mother in law was named Stella. She always said it meant star. I’ll have to find the book.

  7. What a wonderful idea to encourage reading and unity. I am going to check out the book, and the pattern and see who I can introduce to this great idea (My grandkids have outgrown this stage, but I so admire their love of reading.

  8. The Stella dress is fabulous, Jen, and I’m anxious to see if I can make it look as gorgeous as your vision in lavender is! I met a new friend from Canada who was visiting here recently and she sews or her 2 GDs, so I’ve emailed her a link to your blog. Hope to find Stella by Starlight to read soon and I know Kit & Melody will enjoy the Stella dress once it’s sewn!

Leave a Reply

