Nanea’s PC PJs

Standard

So Nanea won the poll from last week, and then it snowed, so I went from feeling like pumpkin muffins to wondering where the Christmas lights were but still had to sew something Hawaiian for you 🙂  The observant will notice my sad return to indoor photo-taking, which means worse lighting and settings, but this pattern is pretty great, even if the pix illustrating it are not!

My husband has actually been known to stop a movie when I’ve yelled “NPC!” too much.  In my own little slang, it means “Not Period Correct” and it gets yelled at historical movies whose costume designers seem to have only the vaguest idea of what clothing was worn in the period, or just flat out don’t care.  The worst NPC costumes I’ve seen lately were in a Kdrama called “Bridal Mask”, but Nanea’s pajamas from AG are a close second.  Why?  That remains a mystery when a) she was intended to be a historical doll and help kids learn about a particular period of history and b) things like libraries and the internet and, for this period, maybe even old family photo albums exist.  If you feel the same way, here is one well-researched and authentic  (AKA “very PC”)  PJ pattern for Nanea :

Get the pattern here

 

I forgot about posting the rattlesnake pix from a few weeks ago until I was going through my Nanea picture directory trying to decide which one to post here today.  All of a sudden, there it was again!  Not as scary looking in the photo as it was encountering him in real life…

IMGP7769r (2)

 

22 responses »

  1. Oh yes, historical films with terrible clothing fashions………and there is so much information out there so why don’t people research!

  2. Wow, that is one big rattlesnake! You can see all of the rattles too. Too close for comfort for me.
    Love the pattern for Nanea. Saw that Costco is supposed to have American Girls again this year. Hoping they have Nanea.

  3. Those pj’s are adorable! Thank you for the informations about pj’s from the past and thank you for yet another great pattern. Although I thought Nanae’s pj’s print was way too modern, it didn’t occur to me that the capri style wasn’t appropriate (maybe she just outgrew her pants?). Personnaly, if I would have been living is such a warm and humid place as Hawaii, I think I would have preferred to wear a nightgown… 🙂

  4. Oh, I love your pattern! Besides being not period correct, AG’s pajamas for Nanea are just kinda blah.

  5. Thank you for the new pattern! It is cute and I really like that it can be used for both Nanea and Kit. I wondered right away why Nanea’s official pajamas had capri bottoms. This pattern is so much more authentic. I can’t wait to make it.

  6. Thank you for the pattern, its adorable as always. The picture of the snake is awesome but I don’t think I would like to have seen it in person. Thanks for sharing ❤

  7. Thank for your Nanea’s PC pj’s, Jen! I really do like them, but the rattler — not-so-much!!! :”( Living in the land of rattlers and scorpions for over 25 years, I’m always thrilled to neither see/hear either!

  8. This is the cutest pattern ever. I used to wear PJ’s just like this when my family went to the drive-in theater many, many years ago. So sweet!

  9. Thank you so much Jen!!!
    I’m just now reading about your foot problems. Hmmm. I’ve just started reading, but, sounds like some of the things I’VE gone thru with my feet.

Leave a Reply

