Actually it’s NOT week 4 yet :(

Standard

Dearly beloved,

We are gathered here today to mourn the passing of Jen’s old computer.  Although it will soon be stripped for parts at to the computer recycling center, we fervently pray its data is safe on the external hard drive and will be able to be transferred to the new computer that interesting blog posts may live again.  🙂

My apologies at the break in the summer sew along for this week.  With the death of my old computer, and Dell’s delay of about a week in shipping out the new one I’m pretty much limited to my phone for most of my computing needs.  I do have a work computer here at home with me, but since it won’t interface with my printer/scanner or external hard drive it’s kind of useless for anything beyond email/internet browsing.

The good news is I am pretty fanatical about backing up all my data every few weeks on an external hard drive, so I may not have lost that much work when the old computer died. Please keep your fingers crossed that everything is there and will transfer to the new computer and I don’t have to re-create very much lost work.  Assuming that is the case, I hope to be back with the next installment of the sew-along next week!

slide1924-268173

And seriously, what are you doing at your computer reading this anyway? Didn’t you camp out in front of the AG store last night in anticipation of the release of their new line of “Wellie Wishers” today?  😉  I admit I will most likely make the 60+ minute drive to my AG store this weekend to check them out.

Although they’re a little cartoon-ish-looking and remind me somewhat of the Disney Princess dolls, I’m pretty thrilled about an AG line of hard-bodied dolls.  First of all, it means no more worries about how much stuffing your doll has compared to someone else’s and how the clothes will fit!  Second, the hard bodies will be far less expensive to produce, and as I write this it’s rumored these dolls will sell for roughly half the price of their cloth-bodied big sisters.  Kudos to AG also for including a variety of skin colors and face molds in their initial lineup AND having one with gorgeous, realistic green eyes.

 

 

14 responses »

  1. The troubles with computers are always irritating, I guess it was very difficult for you. Thank you very much for spending your time to explain it to us, you don’t have to apologize ! Thanks also for these good news : the arrival of new AG dolls. ! I would enjoy to see one of them on your blog.

  2. I’m very sorry for your old computer and I do hope you’ll recover most everything.
    In the meantime, enjoy your trip to your AG store and let us know about your feelings. I’m looking forward to hearing more about them.

  3. I’m sorry for your computer problems… I’m glad you had most of your data backed up, and I hope you can save your computer main drive too (it is possible to install it into an external drive shell and retrive the data, usually). I hope you are well installed with your new computer soo (at first, when I read your message, I thought you had a new H4H doll on the way… Dell! And that she was the cause of the delay!)

  4. Sounds like you’re on top of all things computer. I look forward to your next presentations.
    The “Wellie Wishers” are cute! Sadly, my nearest AG store is on the other side of the state in Seattle. I have never been to an AG store.

  5. Excited as I just ordered two of them. One for me and one for my granddaughter. They were $60 with no shipping charge. They also had a $14 summer outfit that I ordered for my granddaughters doll. This will be for her birthday.

  6. Condolences on your computer. Have my fingers crossed that everything transfers over. After scrambling to keep up, it will be nice to have a catch up week. Looking forward to next weeks adventure.

  7. Groannnn. Computer changeover is never fun, and especially not when you don’t get to make the choice as to when to do it. Good luck!

    I hadn’t heard about the Wellie Wishers before. Am spending too much time in the garden and not enough sewing, which is about par for the course for summer. The dolls are cute, and I think I like the idea for younger girls, which seems to be the target market. It sure adds another facet to their marketing . . . . It appears that a lot of people aren’t too impressed with them, so I’m curious to see how this goes. Since they’re 16″ (right?), I guess you’ll have to get one to be your model to design for that size, too. 🙂

  8. Oh, nooo!!! Sorry about your computer; know it’s a huge hassle but praying ALL your wonderful creations are recoverable/on your hard drive, Jen — good LUCK!!! Wasn’t sure I’d be terribly excited about these new ‘girls’, but it’s interesting that they’re 14.5″ and I will see them in 10 days, so that will be fun.

  9. A moment of silence for the untimely passing of your computer. Hope it is easy to bring the new one on line and you become fast friends. I think for the target market the new Wllies will be well received. They are cute and for young children the durability factor and 1/2 the cost of 18″ AG doll will work in their favor. I was away and only just got week 3 done and posted. Late start to week 4 means I not even behind. Waiting now for week 4 to begin :).

  10. After our last crash, I talked to friend in the IT business and he recommended Syncovery. No, it is not free but not very expensive either. It backs up continuously. I have a tendency to shut down every night since we only have a laptop these days, but when we bought a new laptop, it made it so very east to transfer files. We took out the old hard drive and drilled several holes all the way thru before we disposed of it.

    Sharon Thomas

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

