April snowstorms bring…May flower dresses!

Standard

Thank you everyone for your condolences about Jasper!

It was brought to my attention that not everyone may be able to complete both a dress and sandals in a week during the summer sew-along, so I’m probably going to break it up, but your dolls DO need some cute sundresses, because they are (possibly) the perfect layering piece!  At the bare minimum, it’s a cute dress on its own with sandals.  Depending on the season, you can add leggings/cardigan/blouse/jacket/boots/hat, etc.  Little Darling did a series with a “4-season” dress here: https://jenwrenne.wordpress.com/2014/10/

Since April is an OG, I’ve been trying to do patterns at least inspired by OG outfits once a month for her, and this month’s is loosely based on: 

Instead of a ruffle, this one has a piped round yoke, which to me makes the dress look more elegant and higher-end.  I named this dress “May Flowers” since the daffodils are finally up and growing even though our April “showers” were more like April “dump-five-feet-of-snow-overnight” 🙂

It’s a slim fit on an OG with a flush closure in back, looks great on Journey Girls and will fit the newer KnC dolls more loosely if closed with an overlap in back.  It will likely work for Sasha copied at 80%, but make a muslin first to check.  Have an older/bigger AG?  See the end of the pattern here: https://jenwrenne.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/august-free-pattern-for-kidz-n-cats-and-sasha/ for a tutorial on adding some width at the back with buttoned closures.

Get the pattern here

Please keep posting your fabulous creations on the Wrenfeather flickr page here: https://www.flickr.com/groups/2825314@N20/

Some recent cuteness for your inspiration:

A-line for mini AG by sewbig

Sasha as Maid Marion by Theresa

 

13 responses »

  1. How would I convert your pattern to fit AG dolls? Followed the link on this e-mail but didn’t find the summer dress Betty

    >

  2. I think that dress is Beautiful! I will probably have to omit the piping though. 😦 I really enjoy your blog, every time a new post is up I get SO EXCITED!! I have used some of your tips and tricks when I design my own patterns, Thank You!

  3. Love April’s dress. Hope she doesn’t catch cold if you get more snow. That can’t happen can it? Ha!

  4. Thank you so much. I copied it at 77% and it fits 13 1/2 inch Disney Animator perfectly. I am going to do it full size for Chad Valley Design a Friend. Its slimmer than AG, so I will probably have to adjust a little. You are amazing.

  5. Could you tell me what the skirt pattern piece says. Is it 31 inches long or is it supposed to say 3 1/2″ long.

  6. Dear Jennie, Your blog is one of my favorites. You show and share so many neat patterns and photos. Big thanks to you. This week I received my little Liu doll that your blog made me aware of.
    Hoping that you will be doing more for Paola Reina size or American Girl/Our Generation 6″ dolls. Love the little pattern you just offered. (I made a little red dress from it and posted to your Flicker group. Looking forward to you posting about the summer sew along as I would like to participate.
    Thank you Starr

  7. Happy First Day of June Jennie! Excited to see what you have cooked up for the Sew A Long. It will be my first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

