Knotted Hat

Standard

So…no post last week because we were digging a grave 😦

jdog obit2

We’ve lost pets before, but I’m really having a hard time getting over Jasper.  Of the 9 dogs we’ve had since we’ve been married, he was hands-down the politest, smartest, best dog ever.  Like many Aussies he seemed to have a sixth sense about understanding his people, and was always unobtrusively near us.  I think being so used to him always at my side  is what makes it the hardest, because I keep looking down, wondering where he is…and then remembering he’s gone.   Every time I was in the craft room, he would sit just outside the door and I had to step over him as I went in and out.  Today was the first day being back in there without him and although it was faster to run to and from the kitchen for some water to refill the iron, it was really lonely.

OK, ready to learn a new craft?  Even if you think you “can’t” knit or crochet, if you can handle a sewing needle, you can make this!  Depending where you live, you might argue with me that it’s too warm for a hat.  The lacy effect and cotton though are still perfect for spring – at least where I live!

Click here for instructions to make this needle-knotted hat

Other than Ashley, I don’t know of resources for whatever this craft is.  It’s not really netting or nalbinding or macrame or…?  If you know of some, please share as a comment!

Here’s a really cute and spring-y version of last week’s felt mini AG dress by gammerangel

19 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. Jasper sounded like a wonderful dog.

    Thank you for the hat tutorial! I will try that for sure!

  2. I’m so sorry about Jasper. We just lost our oldest furbaby a couple weeks ago. Oliver would have been 16 this month, and we had had him since he was 2. He was the best cat ever.

    That hat is adorable. 🙂 it looks like a good accessory for any time of year.

  3. So sorry to hear about the loss of your fur baby. My heart feels for you and your family.

    Thanks for the knotted hat pattern. Now to see if I can get hubby to make me a needle.

  4. My thoughts and prayers are with you, Jennie, for your loss of Jasper. It’s very kind of you to post in spite of it all. Take as good care of you as you do of your blog followers–we’re sending you lots of love and condolences.

  5. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. He’s waiting at the Rainbow Bridge for you. God bless.

  6. I am so sorry that you lost Jasper, words cannot express the sorrow and pain in losing a wonderful furbaby 😦

  7. It is so hard when a pet dies. We lost our 19 year old cat almost two years ago, and I still wake up and feel for the cat on our bed.
    I have no idea what the knotting is called but it reminds me of the fisherman nets I can remember from the 1950’s. They used them to catch grunion fish. This was on the Pacific Coast. Our family friend had a little place at the coast and would work on the nets during the winter. Then when there was a grunion run, they would stand in the incoming waves and dip the nets. They would catch tons of them. I don’t hear of anyone doing that any more.

  8. I’m writing in regards to the passing of your beloved dog. I know how you feel; my husband and I never had children so our pets every one of them has been so loved and when they passed it was so hard to get over. So, with this I say – think of all the great memories you have had with your beloved pet and hold them close to your heart, they will go to a special place in your heart. God bless you. Your dear pet is looking down on you and thanking you for your love.

    Suzanne Blakeslee

  9. I just wanted to say I was so sorry to read about your dog – it’s always hard. Also, thanks so much for all that you do for your readers.

  10. I am so sorry for your loss.i went through that with my beloved cat a while ago. The void that remains is terrible. I just had to get another cat. It helped ease the pain but did not erase the wonderful memories of him. Thanks for your lovely blog. Greetings from the island of Malta

  11. I am so, so sorry for your loss of Jasper. I could relate to every word you wrote and cried as I read them. Not so long ago we lost our cat, Irving. He was also my constant companion.

    Every morning he woke me with a scratch at my bedroom door. He followed me everywhere and at times made a royal pain of himself by wanting to lie on my keyboard while I was typing.

    When I’d leave home, he’d always be waiting for me by the front door – often getting under my feet as I tried to carry in the groceries. Oddly it was all these little annoyances that I missed the most.

    Irving was not a snuggly, cuddly kitty and didn’t like to be held and usually didn’t even like being touched and if I just couldn’t resist the urge to reach out to him and he wasn’t in the mood, he’d reward me with a hard puncture wound bite. A kitty only a mother could love. But he did love to be close to me none stop. I only had to look down to find him. My little shadow.

    I, like you, can feel his presence around me. I image I hear his scratch at my door and expect to see him waiting when I come home. I’ll forget at times he’s no longer here. I’ll look down and be surprised that he isn’t there. And then I remember.

    Our four-legged family members steal and warm our hearts and become more than “pets”. They become part of us – loving us in ways even our human family members don’t. They will be forever loved and forever missed.

    Sending warm and healing thoughts,
    Linda DuBos

  12. I am so sorry to hear of Jasper’s passing. I know there is an empty place in your heart that will only start to feel better with the passing of time. Sending you prayers to help heal your heart.

Leave a Reply

