Happy Birthday, April!

Standard
Her birthday was April 1st and the journal with all the party details is coming soon.
In the meantime, get the:

Free pattern for her birthday dress here

If only there had been a way to do photography tests before I chose the WrenFeathers GOTY!  Without a bit of post-processing, April’s skin always seems to photograph a bit orange, whereas Jamie and Abril have more normal skintones in photos no matter what.  OG seems to have far more variation in the skintones and paint for each doll than AGs, maybe matching them more to the eye/hair color?
Abril’s dress is here
Jamie’s top is here and the missing sleeve is here

Oh wow, hard to believe, but…

 It’s already time to start planning the summer sew-along!

If you’re new to the blog, you might not know this, but for the past few years I’ve done a summer sew-along, where people make each week’s pattern and post pix of it.  Long-time followers are surely looking forward to it, but this year, there’s the issue of April and what to do with her during that time. I had planned to have her travel around CO this year to see historical sites, etc. but the weather has so far not been cooperative with (seemingly) record levels of snow and generally not-nice weather to take her outside in.  So…you’ve got two options:

  • Option 1:  Sundresses and Sandals –  I started this last summer/early fall when I was super “into” my Paola Reina Amigas, thinking it would be the SSA for this year.  There are several cute/easy dress and sandal patterns about halfway done in 13″ doll size, which might be a welcome change for some people from the cloth-bodied 18″ dolls. It would also address different types of sandals, which were neglected during “shoe school”.  These would be to fit dolls like PR las Amigas, Cheries, Hearts for Hearts, Little Darlings, etc. and the dresses could be enlarged for Sashas and KnC.  If we do this option, everything April-related would have to be suspended for a while.
  • Option 2:  Concentrate on April, with a summer series of outfits for her size, and maybe some craft projects for her to use while camping/gardening/sewing for her doll/etc.  Possibly a travel journal of where she’s been and pix of her at interesting/historical places around her farm and CO.

Help decide the summer sew-along theme –  vote below!  Poll closes in one week.

10 responses »

  1. This is such a lovely dress! This color is so perfect on April! Happy birthday April! 🙂

    I am looking forward to your summer sew-along (hoping I find time to take part, this year!). I’m thorn between the 13″ and the 18″ dolls! They are equally interesting! And I see we are all thorn as right now, the poll says pretty much 50-50! 🙂

  2. I would Really appreciate it if you did stuff for April. However, I would be fine with the other option if you would make an AG/OG size option. Thank You! (I Love Your Patterns!)

  3. April’s purple dress is perfect for her. Sorry the first didn’t turn out, but this one is lovely. Your girls look adorable and the party treats yummy! Thank you for the great patterns.

  4. Thank you very much for your pattern, and happy birthday to April ! It’s very difficult to choose between these two options, each of them seems so interesting !

  5. I’ve already voted in the poll, but I thought I would add this: As an avid blogger myself, I might recommend going with what the sundresses and sandals if you already have it partly completed. After all, there’s no reason to make more work for yourself. At least, that would be my calculation, but maybe I’m just lazy. 😀

    Either way I have always enjoyed your summer sew alongs and I am looking forward to the next one. Thank you for everything you share.

  6. April’s dress is sooo pretty, Jen, and thank you for your generosity! I surely must try to make it once I finish my friend’s GD’s order. It’s a bit overwhelming since I’ve never done much sewing by request, but mostly just made what I was interested in and given it away previously. Hopefully, she and her GD will be pleased with my efforts!

Leave a Reply

