Pleat collar blouse

Standard

If you can’t find this outfit to buy:

bd30221-afternoon-tea-pr

You could start making it instead!  This week, we have the first installment of it:

DOWNLOAD THE PLEAT COLLAR BLOUSE HERE

It was supposed to be the whole outfit with pix of my April in it, but unfortunately I got sick and then busy with the return to work, so let’s hope I finish it all next weekend!

I incorporated some of your suggestions to develop a personality for April and am pretty excited at all the fun things that may be in store!  In brief, she lives on a ranch in Colorado, raises fiber goats and does some associated fiber crafts with their fleece, like knitting.  She might have a garden when the time comes and wants to grow up to be an archaeologist.   Also by request, she’ll have her own (mini) OG and will occasionally post things she sews for it.

I’m trying to have her “write” a journal fairly regularly and planning to take her various places a normal kid might go, so maybe not Brazil or Paris…more like a museum or park in Colorado, and then take pix of her there and let her write about it.  It will probably appear at the end of each month.

 

24 responses »

  1. I hope you are doing better and that going back to work wasn’t too painful. I’m sure this series will be something we all look forward to and that we will get endeared with your lovely April. Thank you for this pattern! The blouse is really pretty!

  2. Love this! And I love your backstory on April….I fell in love with her and had to purchase her as well and the funny thing is, I live in Colorado as well. Can’t wait to see where this goes. 🙂

    • Only hiking at Walker ranch so far 🙂 but I’m making a list of historical/archaeological sites within reasonable driving distance of Denver and also thinking she’ll spend a few posts on the DMNS – what kid doesn’t love those dinosaurs?

  3. Wonderful blouse pattern. Can’t wait to give it a try. I was going to leave a reply last week, but got caught up in looking at goat sewing patterns and forgot. I still have not found the perfect one. Think I need a swing by of Target soon to see what they have in stock. April is a cutie.

    • I’m toying with the idea of a goat sewing pattern, but also haven’t found anything realistic enough to not look like a toy. Needle felting seems like an interesting possibility- maybe by spring “kidding” time I’ll have a baby goat craft ready?

  4. Yeah! There are lots of places to see by going “local”! Maybe a book from the Smithsonian Natural History Museum or your local history museum. We have one here in Dallas, Texas. I see a way to use your overall & shirt pattern with your journal. Thank you for being so inspiring & for the pattern. Glad you’re feeling better.

  5. One more thing, do you have a heritage farm nearby? April might learn to spin her fibers by a drop spindle or felt her fleece fibers even felting on a purse or blanket. Now my brain is spinning for one of my dolls.

  6. What fun. It sounds like she has her life planned out at a young age. She could probably start gardening now, and maybe even find some archaeological pursuits in the area during her summers. Exactly how old is she supposed to be at this point? Date: Thu, 7 Jan 2016 08:02:12 +0000 To: justfriends3@msn.com

  7. I love this outfit because of the name, but never picked it up. I suppose I should have.

    Looking forward to everything to come with April. 🙂

  8. Cute blouse – I made it this afternoon. Will post to the flickr group once I make a skirt to go with 🙂
    I love your backstory, and it’s lighting a fire under me to write some of my own. I have a doll or two that I never sew for even though I love them, and I think “getting to know them” a little better with a backstory might help me get started.

  9. I raced right out and bought one of the OG dolls at Target..she was on sale. I love her, but I didn’t realize when I bought her that she has an annoying knob on her back to make her hair grow! This knob makes it so her clothes don’t quite close in the back so I guess I am going to have to alter the fit of the patterns a bit to accomodate this knob..hope I can figure it out!

    I want to mention that this doll was a special feature doll and that most of the doll line don’t come with a hair growing knob!

    Love the story line and the patterns…will enjoy both! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

