Candy Cane Christmas Dresses

Standard

This is my favorite week of the CC series so far!  I thought it would be fun to do two entirely different outfits from the same fabrics, and then pose them as though a mom had made the sisters coordinated outfits and taken them to a department store for Christmas portraits.  This red striped fabric, reminiscent of candy canes, seemed perfect.

To the best of my knowledge, there were two Chatty outfits labeled “Peppermint”.  One was a pink dress with a peter pan collar and eyelet pinafore called “Peppermint Stick”, and the other was an eyelet blouse over a sundress that had a red yoke and red and white striped skirt.  This second one was also produced in medium blue, or sometimes blue bodice and light blue skirt and I’ve seen it called “Sundress” “Blue Party Dress” or “Two-tone Jumper”.  There were both Canadadian and US versions and sometimes they varied a bit.  For the pink-striped “Peppermint Stick” dress, the sleeves of Canadian version had integral sleeves, and the American had puffed horizontally striped ones like those above.

Get the pattern for the pinafores here

You’ll also need pieces from the rickrack dress here

This series will probably go for two more weeks, but there are more Chatty things based on her original factory outfits in the works.  If I were you and wanted to get those patterns for free, I might start sewing and posting pix of my dolls in these outfits here.  More info on that to come!

 

12 responses »

  1. Thanks for these designs. I remember Cathy well and am enjoying seeing her clothes again. I’ve been sharing the link to your blog with the 130+ people on my mailing list who are all doll dressers for the Greater Cincinnati Salvation Army Toy Shop. We’re celebration our 60th year anniversary in 2016, so designs from the 50’s and 60’s may play a roll in our program next year.
    Penny

    >

  2. This is adorable! I just love the sundress over the pretty eyelet blouse! This makes a versatile outfit! I hope I can find time to work on your projects. We’re soon leaving for a 2 weeks vacation, away from home, so I doubt I’ll be able to join in. But it is lovely to look at! Thank you for yet another great and fun pattern!

  3. I am loving this series! What happy memories of pictures taken years ago with matching holiday dresses when we were children. I have two vintage chatty cathys and two reproductiions and now I am inspired to mingle them in with my AG like big sisters.

  4. Thank you so much! I have been wanting a pattern for a pinafore for a while. I am sure it will look sweet for a Christmas outfit with or without candy stripes.

  5. I think this is my favorite so far in this series too (and they’ve all been fun)! I love the idea of coordinating “sisters” doll dresses. I always seem to purchase a little too much fabric when selecting for doll clothes, but I’ve hesitated to make a second dress because I don’t want all of my dolls to match. Sisters coordinates could be the perfect solution!

  6. Thank you again for the free patterns and instructions. Those of us on fixed incomes really depend on the generousity of people like you to help us make pretty things for our grandchildren. May God bless you with a happy holiday season and a healthy new year.

Leave a Reply

