Why you should play with your dolls and survey results

Standard

An article in the Journal of Consumer Psychology says that people report more satisfaction from buying things that give you an experience.  So, for example, buying a musical instrument that you’ll interact with and enjoy is a more rewarding purchase than a rug that will just sit on the floor and eventually get thrown up on by the dog/cat.  Or maybe that’s just in my house?  🙂

For readers of this blog, I’d take it another way and say that means get those dolls off their shelves or out of their boxes and into the sewing room!  Paying a ton of money for a doll that sits in a box under your bed will (according to this research) not make you as happy as making that doll a new dress, taking her outside, setting up a cute scene and taking pictures!  Consider changing your mindset from “If I had another new doll I’d be so happy I’d sew for her more” to “I’m going to sew/craft more for the dolls I have so that I’ll like them more!”

Whether you buy them or download them free, sewing patterns are also an experience, as well as possibly being quality time with a sewing friend or child.  And unlike, say, spending two hours watching a movie, at the end of two hours of sewing you probably have a nice memento of the event and can feel proud of the way you spent your time!

My challenge to you this week:  Pull that “too special” doll out of her box, and print out that old pattern that you downloaded and never got around to sewing (I know you have some – if you can’t find them click here!) and ENJOY yourself!    If you’d like, share your pix on the WrenFeathers Flickr group.  While you’re there, check out some of the new pix including this little woodland creature by Jess Saige:

A huge thank you to everyone who took the time to answer the survey a few weeks ago!

The blog survey results are here!

 

11 responses »

  1. You are right, I’m never more delighted with my doll purchases than when I allow myself to play with them…or when I see my daughter and her friends play with them!

  2. Just last week I took 2 of my dolls to the beach. The photos turned out great, so although I didn’t make their clothes, I did upload the beach collage photo I took to the Flickr group. Yes, we should play with our dolls!

  3. Hi Jenne & all your fans! Your tutorials are amazing & I thought I’d mention this in regards to resizing. Resizing patterns is MUCH easier if you use a tool popular with graphic artists — known as a PROPORTIONAL SCALE, it’s a 5 1/2″ round plastic double disk that you can find in any art/drafting supplies store. It’s a no brainer, you line up the inner circle with present measurement, match it to the desired size on the outer edge, and the little window will tell you what percentage to use. Ever so easy, better than a computer, and much MUCH better than trying to do the math in your head (Star Trek voice ” D—it Jim, I’m an artist, not a mathematician!”) BTW, I totally love & enjoy your blog, you are awesomely generous ! ❤ Mama June

  4. Thanks for this post, and all the wonderful patterns and photos you share with us. Wonder if you might care to comment: I have not sewn in years, but I have spent a lot time collecting patterns and books, without making anything. But I’m very attracted to dolls and their costumes. I’ve cleaned up my workroom, tuned up the sewing machine and serger – but I won’t go near them. Years ago I used to derive great comfort from all my needlework and crafts and would like to do so again.

    Any thoughts? Is this like writers’ block, or is it something else?

    • Yep, it happens to me too! Cleaning is the first step, and having your fabrics organized in a way that makes sense to you should follow. The next hurdle is getting inspired either by a fabric, doll or project. Put a doll on the floor and surround her with 5-10 random fabrics. Stare at it for a while, go have some tea and come back. Sometimes that’s enough, and a fabric “tells” you, “I want to be a sundress for this doll!” If a project hasn’t clarified yet, it’s time for drastic measures. Approach it like a chore that needs to get done, close your eyes, pick a random quilting cotton and start making the doll a basic dress – my go-to is a standard short puffed sleeve with a gathered skirt. As you make it, be playful and add whatever decoration occurs to you – this is a creative exercise and no doll has ever complained about any new dress no matter how it looks!
      That’s almost always enough to get things “unstuck” and help the creative juices flow for me and other projects will probably present themselves before you’re done!

Leave a Reply

