Summer sew along ends tonight!

Standard

Happy Canada Day!


Saila is modeling the hoodie that  will be in the free pattern tomorrow if you get your entries in on time!  Please do not email me asking to bend the rules just for you. It is a slippery slope, and if I do it for you then I have to do it for everyone else, and it’s not fair to the people that followed the directions.  About 60 people so far were able to successfully put pictures onto Flickr and submit those links correctly in the form…so yes, it CAN be done!
To reiterate:
Once you’ve finished with everything, make sure all your photos are in the group here.

And then go here to submit all your links at once.

  • Yes, you can just put one link if you put all your items in one pic!
  • Yes, it’s fine to have a friend/family member post your pic for you from their account and put it in the group, just  make sure to ask them for the  links to your work to submit with your email address.
  • There are a few people who submitted only their email address but no links to any pictures. If you did that, you will NOT be on the list, so make sure to put in a link to your pictures!

The pattern for week 5 and a bonus pattern will be emailed to you on Thursday, so you need to submit your entry by the evening of July 1st.  I’ll compile the list and send out the new patterns July 2nd in the morning as soon as I’ve had enough tea to feel awake and able to complete that task 🙂

Hoodie from above resized for Paola Reina

If you have been on vacation or for some other reason could not participate, you can get all of the patterns including week five and the bonus dress pattern right now on Etsy!

I wanted to share some clever things people have done and a few  of the many color combos I like:

MerriJWWeek#4Leggings

DorrieBelle is using Disney princess dolls.  I always see them at Target and want to get one and then think, “What could I sew for them besides princess dresses?”  Modern clothes, it turns out!

image

Kelly turned the boatneck top into a super cute jacket!

get-attachment (44)

Rosetownjoy resized for her sweet little Tonner Sophie

Penny used really unique fabric to make a beach coverup

Grandmaknits reused a child’s dress and turned the boatneck top into a dress!

Melangel’s clever fabric placement made a neat top for Clem!

https://flic.kr/p/veigbD

slpslee chose a really cute mix of fabrics for her doll!

As did NurseEeyore

This one from quickdrawannie coordinates not only with itself but its surroundings too.  Using the same color for tank and skirt here makes it look like a dress.

Pink looks good on most dolls, but orange can be a tricky color to use successfully.  KB did a very nice job of that!

Ok, it’s summer, but sewbig’s dolls are ready for fall in this elegant combination!  (boy’s shirt pattern free here)

I like the nautical feel of Silke’s combo here

and the very summery feel of Reagie’s

[If your photo is shown here and for some reason you don’t want it to be, just let me know and I’ll take it down!]

Thanks to everyone who participated in the sew along and get your links in by tonight!!

7 responses »

  1. Gorgeous entries 🙂 This is my first time contributing to the Summer SAL so I really hope I have filled in the form properly .

  2. Happy Canada Day to everyone from Texas! I love all the posts and great design/fabric ideas that people have used. It just goes to show us all how diverse the opportunities are to using a well-thought out pattern. This has sure been a fun summer sew along! Thanks so much for sharing Jen! All of your patterns are fantastic. What a thrill also to see that my own picture linked in. I really didn’t think I could do it. So glad I persevered. I had a lot of trouble figuring out the system because I’m not very good with computers. I appreciated the extra tips. They really helped, along with a boost from my husband who is a lot more computer savvy than I am. Lol!

  3. Thanks so much for all the work you’ve put into this. I’ve been wanting to try working with knits, and am now well inspired. And I also have wonderful samples of others’ creativity in using these patterns.

  4. I love all the entries! Great ideas, and I love the variety of doll size shown! I wasn’t able to participate, but I will complete the sew-along (which I could call a “sew-after”, now?) as soon as my craft space is cleared up! Thanks for putting all the patterns on Etsy! I love the hoodie!

  5. CONGRATS to everyone who participated in the SAL — so many talented ladies and so much ‘eye candy’ to peruse on Flickr! Thank you so much, Jen, for creating these fabulous patterns and giving us all the tools/tips we need to improve our sewing skills. I can only imagine the many hours you’ve invested in the SAL — you are AWESOME!!! Our dolls thank you too!!! ;~)

Leave a Reply

