The Maru patterns are finally ready!

Standard

Apologies for unanswered comments…I am reading them but this time of year is SO busy for me I can barely keep up with the paperwork I’m officially being paid to do! 🙂

It might feel like a long time to you, but to me, September was a whirlwind of sewing and patternmaking and I’m amazed this all got done in about a month!  You’ll recall I was inspired by modern kids clothes and it was lots of fun translating already-adorable kids clothes into even more adorable doll clothes!

In the interests of having more than one model, and hoping to have some interactive 2-doll pix, I added Savannah to our doll family…not a fun process.  But if you already have one and want to sew for her a link to all the new patterns is here and scroll down for a FREE pattern too!

etsy maru coll 2

etsy maru coll 3 etsy maru coll 1

The whole collection includes:

  • Pea coat
  • Two blouses with front/side/sleeve variations
  • Shirtwaist dress
  • Pretty Prints dress
  • Versatility Pants with fitted waist and working pockets
  • Elastic-waist pants (not shown above)
  • A-line dress or jumper with optional collar
  • High-waisted gathered skirt dress
  • Raglan shirt (for jersey/micro fleece)
  • Boho blouse
  • Super Easy skirt

They’re available individually and in sets of 2-3 here and I also put all of them together in one bundle that saves you $11 over buying them individually.  It’s listed here.

Learning to share

I’m always excited when dolls can share clothes!  Remember how I said when I got Tanya I was upset that I couldn’t scale patterns up or down from any other doll to fit her?  Well, I recently got a Paola Reina Las Amigas Cristi doll and was thrilled to find many of the Maru patterns I’d been drafting work when copied at 60% for her!  This is great news, because the PRs are smaller than Hearts for Hearts, and now I don’t need to start from scratch to clothe her!  (size comparison pic here: https://flic.kr/p/pjDNJa)

Who else can share clothes with Maru?  Well, you’ll be happy to hear Journey Girls can share a lot of patterns.  As a rough guideline, you can adapt many of the Maru patterns to fit the JGs like this:

  • Shorten long sleeves by ¾” (2cm)
  • Shorten skirts by 1.25” (3cm)
  • Loose-fitting pants may work, shortened 1.25″ as for skirts, but tight-fitting pants definitely won’t, since Maru’s legs are skinnier.

Check out this cute, easy and FREE dress pattern:

savannah t dress

Click here for T-shirt dress pattern

Instructions included in pattern for adaptations for Journey Girls, Cheries, Sasha, AG, etc.

Wear it by itself or with a sweater and leggings if it’s already getting cold where you are

What have you been up to?

I love seeing your creations and inspirations from my patterns!  You’re always welcome to send me links to your pix or blog posts showing what you’ve done.  Katy did a blog post about the summer sew-along here: http://1960sgirl.wordpress.com/2014/09/13/wrenfeathers-summer-sew-along-2014/  Her pic of Shola illustrates that the right fabric can be decoration enough…and that maybe I need to take a trip “across the pond” to stock up on some Liberty fabrics 🙂

Speaking of other websites you might enjoy, check out this free printable for a cute little pop-up book that seems to be a nice size for 18″ and larger dolls:

http://www.thetoymaker.com/Toypages2/100TheSecretGarden/100TheSecretGarden.html

Coming soon:

Another free and very easy Maru pattern

IMG_2890r

 

 

Leave a Reply

