Native American-Style Dresses

Standard

A big thank you to everyone who took the time to vote in the last poll.  The winner (by one vote) was a Plains costume:


kaya gritty sepia old photoR

(click to enlarge the small photo)

But Pacific Northwest was SOOO close and I am SOOO nice 🙂 that I did a version of one of those too.  These outfits are all my interpretations of traditional costumes, but I tried to be as faithful as possible to the originals while making them do-able at doll size.

I also added some accessories – yes, I read and value your comments!

DOWNLOAD MY VERSION OF A CROW COSTUME HERE

DOWNLOAD MY VERSION OF A TLINGIT COSTUME AND MOCCASIN PATTERNS HERE

14 responses »

  1. Thank you for the great patterns. I am making good use of them. I have made two of the sundress pattern and one of the heirloom dress. I also made the Portugal outfit from your Etsy Sales. Keep up the good work

    • You’re welcome! You know, half of what keeps me doing this is people’s encouragement (the other half is love of dolls and sewing…) Before I started this blog I kind of took internet content for granted…it was just “there”. Now I really appreciate all the hard work people put into getting and keeping that content up.

  2. You are sooo, sooo, nice 🙂
    The Plains dress is very striking. With just a few modifications, I can picture it as a dress for girls of today (meaning, a normal wear around town dress versus a costume). Of course, navy and red are one of my favorite color combinations. The Tlingit costume is also very special. I like how you used so many different crafting supplies and added so many special touches to it.
    Also, just thought of a new shrink plastic use. A yarn needle.

    • Thank you! I think it could make a really nice winter nightgown for modern dolls too. A yarn needle! You can never have too many and I am always (despite having, like, 5 of them) misplacing mine, great idea!

  3. Thank you so much for the Tlinget pattern. It is so appropriate for my little granddaughter and her AGD who live in the Seattle area.
    I would very much like to have the PES. embroidery designs.
    Thank you again.
    Gina

  4. Thank you so much for the two patterns. They are wonderful. One question, how did you make a mold for the fimo teeth for the Crow design?

    • Using whichever baked tooth you like best, press it into a piece of scrap clay you’ve worked soft, about the size of a medium marble, redoing if necessary to get a perfect impression, and then bake that. Your tooth will end up flat on the back, but that’s actually a good thing for getting it to lay nicely against the dress.

  5. Thank you for these, they are wonderful! You sure put a lot of thought and research into this post.
    You ARE nice, and I appreciate all the hard work you put in behind the scenes! 🙂
    I enjoy reading your blog and (at a snails pace) crafting things from your patterns.(I am working on a rillakuma style dress right now)

  6. Pingback: Doll Diaries Picks for the Week Ending October 5 — Doll Diaries

  7. Doll Diaries just introduced me to your blog. This is my first visit and I love your work. Thank you very much for these additional patterns and outfit ideas. I think it is sad that AG doesn’t do more for Kaya’aton’my…with the exception of the retired jingle and fancy dance dresses they use the same pattern and just change the color of the faux leather.

    Your designs have character and provide educational background. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

