Cheries

Standard

Je vous présente ma nouvelle poupée :  Corolle Capucine  – Je sais qu’il y a au moins deux d’entre vous qui peuvent lire cette phrase! 🙂

Ok, enough of my possibly incorrect French…so many people have asked me about sizing for these dolls I decided to order one.  (They’re pretty much the same size as Hearts for Hearts, and yes, the pattern for her padded jacket is coming…)

capucine

In case you haven’t figured it out, my new doll is a Corolle Cheries doll, and I have to say something great about her:  In general, the photos a company puts out to promote their dolls often look a lot different, and sometimes better than the doll looks in real life.  (Kathe Kruse, I’m talking to you!)  Capucine is an exception in that she looks better in real life, what a nice change!  And she was dressed in red, pink, and black but had NO STAINS!  🙂  These dolls are a little squishy to be huggable.  It bothered me at first, and then I started to like it.  She smelled like play-doh for about a week and that smell has now changed to a light vanilla scent which I’ve started to like.

I do still feel Hearts for Hearts have a better quality to price ratio, as well as being more poseable with their ball-jointed necks and arms with a better range of motion, but these dolls are quite nice.

I also ordered this book:

It is only available in French, and readily available on amazon.fr and often amazon.ca, but if you are looking for it in the US, you will need to be patient (mine took 3 weeks to arrive) and maybe willing to pay a little more.  You can search by ISBN to find it: 2848314796 and as of this writing there are 9 copies available on amazon.com

I am not someone who will lightly sing the praises of things. Nor am I one of those bloggers who gets loads of free things from companies to “review” (AKA provide free advertising).  I pay for things myself, and present an unbiased review.
I was so pleased with this book! I’m in the middle of designing some historical patterns that are somewhat complex, and this book provides a happy distraction from them.  I would say that all the things in this book are easy to sew.  Many of them are variations on a theme, but those variations are so different they don’t get boring. There is a costume here for every conceivable thing your Cheries could want to do. There are outfits for around town (modern things), vacations (ethnic outfits) and historical garments. While the authenticity of some of the ethnic and historical things is questionable, all of the outfits are absolutely lovely and have a naïve, handmade look. Even if you don’t speak French, the patterns and pictures make this book accessible to anyone with advanced beginner sewing skills. The only thing I found mildly annoying was that all of the patterns need to be enlarged on a copier before you can use them, and they all have a different enlargement ratio.  Although the book is a little expensive if you are ordering it from outside of Europe, it does have 40 different outfits and I think is a pretty good value for the price.
Some of the outfits included are:
Schoolgirl
Nurse
Fashionista
Dancer
Gala
Arty
Working girl
Bride
Chinese
Creole
Peruvian
Balinese
Kimono
Polynesian
Scottish
Lakota
Oriental dancer
Sari
A variety of costume-y type fairy patterns, which are variations on a basic ballgown
Witch
Pirate
Historical costumes include: ancient Rome, Renaissance, 1920s, 1880s, ancient Egypt, 1960s, 1910, prehistoric, 1950s and Empire

You can look inside the book on amazon.fr and .ca, but here are a few more pictures: (I am SO making that pirate costume for Halloween!)

5 responses »

  1. I have the Tenues de poupees and naturally I can’t locate my French dictionary! This book has a majority of knitting & crochet patterns, so I will definitely need it. I hope to get the one you have soon.

Leave a Reply

