A new take on the heirloom sundress and a T-shirt project

Standard

Happy Canada Day!  (or not…)

There are a lot of awesome things about Canada, including my favorite band, Great Big Sea.  Canada Post and Maplelea do not make my list, though.  Just as we have American girl dolls, Canada has Maplelea Dolls, and  couple of years ago they came out with a new one named Saila.  She is from Nunavut, and has some amazing outfits, including an amauti, which is actually made by Inuit seamstresses in Canada.  When I tried to order her, and her amauti, the shipping cost via Canada Post was $37!  Keep in mind here that they will ship for a flat rate of nine dollars anywhere in Canada.  But they also say you can call or email them for a quote for international shipping.  So I did, but they never responded!  I can only conclude from that, that they are either so nationalistic they refuse to sell to Americans or doing so much business that they can afford to ignore customers who want their products.

So, I had been hoping originally that this post would be an outfit for my new Canadian doll, to celebrate Canada day, which is today.  But since Maplelea didn’t want my money or a little bit of free positive publicity on my blog, instead I bring you a project for any doll…

Click here

As well as my new German doll, which is a Sophie Heidi by Käthe Kruse.  She has the same measurements as Sasha except arm and leg length, but (so sorry, Sasha sweetie!) is even better proportioned.  You can see it clearly in the photo of the two of them below.

I was going through my box of Sasha clothes, looking for something for my new doll to wear when I found this:

It was based on a dress for a much smaller doll by Boneka, which was yellow batiste with hand embroidery and cost $40.  (image below  is from http://letsplaydolls.com/ in case you want the “real thing”)


My version is just plain cotton with machine embroidery I put together to replicate the original.  Apparently I had put it away because it is a little too tight for Sasha. The more it sat out staring at me, the more I wanted to make it work, but I had no idea what pattern I used to make it.  So, using the heirloom sundress pattern free here:  https://jenwrenne.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/august-free-pattern-for-kidz-n-cats-and-sasha/  I redid the dress in a different style.  You can too!  Just shorten it to hip length and add a double skirt.  You can widen it also to fit AGs.

Did you know you can make your machine embroidery look more like hand embroidery? One thing that is a dead giveaway of machine embroidery is super shiny rayon thread.  Instead of this, you can use matte polyester thread (which may be hard to find) or, even better, DMC makes an all cotton thread especially for machine embroidery!

See the difference between these two dresses?  The white one was done using all cotton thread and the other with rayon.

 

Leave a Reply

