Retro Butterick doll patterns…reissued

Standard

So, it’s Butterick’s 150th anniversary this year and to celebrate they are re-releasing some old patterns…or possibly re-drafting them, I’m not entirely sure.  Anyway, I was at JoAnn today where these CUTE 18″ doll patterns were on SALE and since the dolls in the pictures look slim I picked up these two  in the hope that they’d fit the KnC.  Well, in case you’re wondering the same thing, I took some comparison pictures of the size of the pieces next to my standard KnC bodice sloper with ¼” seams added.  (Yep, hard to believe, but many of my patterns begin their lives being traced from those little pieces of paper.)

IMG_7914R1

IMG_7912R1

You can see the Butterick ones, while adorable, are a little too large, I would guess they’d fit Magic Attic loosely and  Journey Girls just fine, but could be baggy on the KnC.  I didn’t check the pants.  (Have you made any of these?  Send me pix!) I’m debating about re-drafting some of them, maybe for a vintage dress/coat Spring ensemble?  UPDATE:  GO HERE TO SEE HOW THEY FIT. Yes it’s January, but definitely time to think about Spring fashion!  You can decide here what the free Spring/Easter dress pattern will be!

Stay tuned for the February blog…I’ve been sewing and crafting furiously and I think you’ll like it!

One response »

  1. Ooooh those patterns look so cute, I especially like the 5865 one! Somehow my little scraps of paper never turn into lovely patterns like yours do…only grocery lists! 😀

Leave a Reply

